Facing Assault Charges
If you are facing assault charges in Maryland, you may be overwhelmed and angry, especially if you believe the charges are unfair. Assault charges can arise under many circumstances, including domestic disputes and altercations at sporting or entertainment events. Regardless of the circumstances that led to the charges against you, you can benefit from the assistance of an experienced Maryland assault lawyer. Call and schedule a consultation today to discuss your case with a criminal defense attorney in Maryland.
How An Attorney Can Help
Our MD defense attorneys understand that it is easy to be accused of assault, since all that is required for an assault charge is that the accused person intentionally acted to cause an apprehension of imminent harmful or offensive contact (which is commonly referred to as a “battery”). Even if no harmful or offensive contact actually took place, a person can still be charged with assault, so long as the alleged victim did not consent.
While wrongful assault charges may be common, there are many valid defenses to assault, including self-defense, or establishing that you did not act intentionally. An experienced Maryland assault attorney will be able to help you identify the best course of action in fighting unfair assault charges.
Assault Charges Under Maryland Law
In Maryland, assault is broken down into two degrees. First-degree assault occurs when a person causes or intended to cause serious physical injury to the victim, or if the accused used a firearm when committing the assault, even if no injury occurred.
First-degree assault is punishable by up to 25 years in prison and is considered a felony conviction. Because this is such a serious charge, it is crucial that you work with an assault lawyer in Maryland who can put forth a strong defense on your behalf.
Assault in the second degree includes all other assaults that do not rise to the level of the first-degree offense. Specifically, if an assault did not involve a firearm, and the victim was not seriously injured – and no serious injury was intended– the assault is considered second degree.
While second-degree assault is less serious than first-degree, it is still important to take the accusation very seriously, especially since second-degree assault is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $2500 under Maryland Code § 3-201.
Assault on a Law Enforcement Officer
Most of the time, second-degree assault is considered a misdemeanor conviction, but there is also a felony form of second-degree assault. If the altercation involves a law-enforcement officer—including a probation or parole agent, or Washington metro area transit police officer—during the course of performing his or her official duties, the offense is considered a felony, so long as the officer suffered injuries. The injuries need not be serious, however. Any harm that is more than only the most minor injuries would be enough to constitute a felony second-degree assault charge.
Felony second-degree assault of a law-enforcement officer is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $5000.
Find Experienced Representation Today
Assault charges are not something to take lightly. Demonstrate that you’re taking your future seriously by working with an experienced Maryland assault lawyer who understands the way these cases are handled in the MD court system. We’re standing by to schedule your free initial case evaluation, so call now.